Saifdean Ammous on Bitcoin

a photo of crypto expert reviewer Saifdean Ammous

Saifedean Ammous is Assistant Professor of Economics at the Lebanese American University.

expert reviewed cryptocurrency Bitcoin logo

Created by the pseudonymous Satoshi Nakamoto in 2009, Bitcoin is a peer-to-peer electronic cash system.

Finance and payments Privacy coin

Bitcoin reviews by Saifdean Ammous

πŸ”‘ 2 positive | πŸ’© 0 negative

2018

  • πŸ”‘

    Bitcoin isn't "cool" or "awesome" new tech. It's an ugly contraption optimized to be neutral apolitical money, not for your user experience. It's not the toy you want, it's the medicine you need.

    Like it or not, it's your best chance for living in a free market with sound money.

    2018-12-05 | Full Review

  • πŸ”‘

    There's only one neutral free market money in the planet: Bitcoin.

    2018-12-04 | Full Review

More Saifdean Ammous reviews

Compare Saifdean Ammous's Bitcoin reviews with other coins.

πŸ’©

Monero is so centralized and editable [that] its devs can clandestinely plan surprise hard forks without miner manufacturers finding out. Good luck having that kind of shitcoin sustain any kind of government attack. . . . Anonymity is not a switch you can flick on.

2018-03-30 | Full Review

πŸ’©

Researching altcoins & astonished at their idiocy. Ripple is even stupider than Ethereum, but Steem has got to be the stupidest of them all.

2016-08-13 | Full Review

πŸ’©

While I still believe Litecoin is just another pointless alt, I think Satoshi Lite genuinely believes it's digital silver and it helps BTC.

2018-05-20 | Full Review

See all Saifdean Ammous reviewsβ€”>

More Bitcoin reviews

Compare Saifdean Ammous's Bitcoin reviews with other expert reviews of Bitcoin.

πŸ”‘

I don't have a view on what the ultimate value of a Bitcoin will be nor do I care. I am interested in Bitcoin plain and simply because I believe it can be and possibly will be the financial and transactional protocol for the global Internet.

2013-11-24 | Full Review

πŸ”‘

If something is to displace Bitcoin now, it will have to have sizable improvements and it will have to happen quickly. Otherwise, this network effect will carry Bitcoin to dominance.

2014-01-21 | Full Review

πŸ”‘

Bitcoin takes powers from the central actors and returns it to merchants and consumers, savers and borrowers. Bitcoin brings back some pseudonymity in the transactions, and can be irrevocably traded like cash. And finally, it points a way towards a single currency – it is a bug, not a feature, that we have multiple global currencies with exchangers and transaction fees in between.

2013-11-07 | Full Review

See all Bitcoin reviewsβ€”>