Fred Ehrsam on Ethereum

a photo of crypto expert reviewer Fred Ehrsam

Fred Ehrsam co-founded Coinbase in 2012. Formerly, Ehrsam was a Foreign Exchange trader at Goldman Sachs.

Coinbase Goldman Sachs

expert reviewed cryptocurrency Ethereum logo

Ethereum is a Turing-Complete cryptocurrency that serves as a platform for programmable smart contracts.

Decentralized computer

Ethereum reviews by Fred Ehrsam

๐Ÿ”‘ 2 positive | ๐Ÿ’ฉ 0 negative

2016

  • ๐Ÿ”‘

    Ethereum was the first thing to me to come along [after Bitcoin] and create something with capabilities so new that it was worth adding [to Coinbase]. Allowing arbitrary programs is amazing, fiddling with block time/inflation rate is not.

    [T]he future is thousands/millions of cryptoassets like we have millions of apps and websites but very few base networks. This mostly looks like assets being built on top of Ethereum at the moment.

    Fred Ehrsam, Board of Directors at Coinbase, Previous Co-Founder of Coinbase

    2016-07-22 | Full Review

  • ๐Ÿ”‘

    Enter Ethereum. Ethereum has taken what was a four-function calculator of a programming language in Bitcoin and turned it into a full-fledged computer. We now stand only nine months out from the beginning of the Ethereum network, and the level of app development is already faster than Bitcoinโ€™s.

    Fred Ehrsam, Board of Directors at Coinbase, Previous Co-Founder of Coinbase

    2016-05-24 | Full Review

More Fred Ehrsam reviews

Compare Fred Ehrsam's Ethereum reviews with other coins.

๐Ÿ”‘

Numerai is one of the first examples I have seen where the clear endgame is a product for AIs.

Fred Ehrsam, Board of Directors at Coinbase, Previous Co-Founder of Coinbase

2016-12-14 | Full Review

๐Ÿ”‘

[B]itcoin as a payment system is just one of the potential applications of the network. To cap Bitcoinโ€™s value here would be like saying that the Internet, in the early days, was only as valuable as its ability to send email in a more efficient way than fax or snail mail. Bitcoin is valuable as a currency because of the economic efficiencies the Bitcoin network is already creating as transactions flow over it. As with the Internet, more applications will flourish which will make the Bitcoin network, and thus Bitcoin as a currency, valuable.

Fred Ehrsam, Board of Directors at Coinbase, Previous Co-Founder of Coinbase

2014-01-02 | Full Review

๐Ÿ”‘

The Internet enables decentralized distribution of data. Bitcoin enables decentralized proof and transfer of ownership.

Fred Ehrsam, Board of Directors at Coinbase, Previous Co-Founder of Coinbase

2014-01-02 | Full Review

See all Fred Ehrsam reviewsโ€”>

More Ethereum reviews

Compare Fred Ehrsam's Ethereum reviews with other expert reviews of Ethereum.

๐Ÿ”‘

The best venture investment of the last three years wasn't a venture deal. Ethereum โ€” 750x, liquid, and open to all.

2017-06-02 | Full Review

๐Ÿ”‘

I have often said that Ethereum is doing it right throughout the DAO fork, and Bitcoin devs, with their fetishistic dependence on "the longest chain," their inability to change ancient code, and their obvious conflicts of interest, are on weak ground.

2017-12-18 | Full Review

๐Ÿ”‘

Every 10-15 years, thereโ€™s a major new transition. . . . To me, Ethereum is the most important technology of the decade, for sure. I donโ€™t even think itโ€™s going to be questionable.

2018-04-19 | Full Review

See all Ethereum reviewsโ€”>