Fred Wilson on Ethereum

a photo of crypto expert reviewer Fred Wilson

Fred Wilson is the co-founder of Union Square Ventures (USV), which launched in 1991.

Union Square Ventures Twitter

expert reviewed cryptocurrency Ethereum logo

Ethereum is a Turing-Complete cryptocurrency that serves as a platform for programmable smart contracts.

Decentralized computer

Ethereum reviews by Fred Wilson

🔑 2 positive | 💩 1 negative

2018

  • 💩

    If all of us who own Ethereum could go to Vitalik and say, “Look, this thing you got in Switzerland is not working. Fire these fuckers who don't know what the hell they're doing, and put someone great in there who could build this thing into a monster”—then that's what we would do. There's no mechanism to do that, and that's painful—just sitting here, holding that asset and watching them whittle the value of the asset away.

    2018-10-23 | Full Review

2017

  • 🔑

    I am increasingly viewing Bitcoin and Ethereum as complementary, not competitive, and I see both of them as important public blockchains that will grow in significance in the coming years. . . . There is a lot of developer momentum and enthusiasm around [Ethereum].

    2017-02-20 | Full Review

2016

  • 🔑

    [Immutability vs. adaptability] is now at the center of the Bitcoin vs. Ethereum competition for the hearts and minds of developers. I believe the Bitcoin core developers have more or less landed on immutability, and Ethereum core developers are very much into adaptability. It may be that it is useful to have two significant, liquid, and highly capitalized public blockchains: one that is immutable (think of gold) and one that is adaptable (think of the dollar).

    There was a time when I was a Bitcoin absolutist. That changed a while ago, and I now believe that we are going to have multiple blockchains, multiple currencies, and a ton of app tokens, some with their own blockchains, some built on top of Bitcoin or Ethereum.

    2016-07-22 | Full Review

More Fred Wilson reviews

Compare Fred Wilson's Ethereum reviews with other coins.

🔑

I don't have a view on what the ultimate value of a Bitcoin will be nor do I care. I am interested in Bitcoin plain and simply because I believe it can be and possibly will be the financial and transactional protocol for the global Internet.

2013-11-24 | Full Review

🔑

Late last year, USV invested in Numerai, a hedge fund that uses data scientists all around the world to “crowdsource” stock price predictions. I blogged a bit about Numerai then.

If that business model wasn’t cutting-edge enough for you, the Numerai team has now gone a step further and issued a crypto-token called Numeraire to incent these data scientists to work together to build the best models instead of just competing with each other.

2017-02-22 | Full Review

🔑

To be clear, I don’t think Steem has this all figured out. I don’t own any Steem (or at least I don’t think I do). And I think they have made things a bit too complicated with their tokens and incentives. To their credit, they have taken steps to simplify things, and they are headed in the right direction.

2017-01-05 | Full Review

See all Fred Wilson reviews—>

More Ethereum reviews

Compare Fred Wilson's Ethereum reviews with other expert reviews of Ethereum.

🔑

The best venture investment of the last three years wasn't a venture deal. Ethereum — 750x, liquid, and open to all.

2017-06-02 | Full Review

🔑

I have often said that Ethereum is doing it right throughout the DAO fork, and Bitcoin devs, with their fetishistic dependence on "the longest chain," their inability to change ancient code, and their obvious conflicts of interest, are on weak ground.

2017-12-18 | Full Review

🔑

Every 10-15 years, there’s a major new transition. . . . To me, Ethereum is the most important technology of the decade, for sure. I don’t even think it’s going to be questionable.

2018-04-19 | Full Review

See all Ethereum reviews—>