Nic Carter on Augur

a photo of crypto expert reviewer Nic Carter

Nic Carter is a partner at Castle Island Ventures, a venture firm focused on public blockchains. He also created Coinmetrics, a site that provides key metrics for crypto assets.

expert reviewed cryptocurrency Augur logo

Augur is a decentralized oracle and prediction market. Augur's REP token is used for reporting and disputing the outcome of events. Reporters are rewarded for reporting correctly.

Augur reviews by Nic Carter

๐Ÿ”‘ 0 positive | ๐Ÿ’ฉ 2 negative

2019

  • ๐Ÿ’ฉ

    Augur deserves credit for being a functional and interesting dapp, although itโ€™s unclear whether the decentralized reporting will prove robust enough to support liquid markets and induce large punters to join the platform. And I personally believe it would be less fragile as an open source launch with an anon/non US dev team, rather than an ICO-funded venture.

    Nic Carter, Partner at Castle Island Ventures and Co-creator of Coinmetrics

    2019-01-01 | Full Review

2018

  • ๐Ÿ’ฉ

    it's been 2.5 years since Augur's crowdsale and they haven't shipped yet. their (latest) deadline for public release was Q1 2018. that's about to end.

    Nic Carter, Partner at Castle Island Ventures and Co-creator of Coinmetrics

    2018-03-28 | Full Review

More Nic Carter reviews

Compare Nic Carter's Augur reviews with other coins.

๐Ÿ”‘

Monero is one of the few projects with a genuine community.

Nic Carter, Partner at Castle Island Ventures and Co-creator of Coinmetrics

2018-04-30 | Full Review

๐Ÿ”‘

Numerai is probably the _only_ example of tokens in a tokenized network being used as a bootstrap mechanism. It's amazing what you can do when you optimize for growth and not short-term enrichment.

Nic Carter, Partner at Castle Island Ventures and Co-creator of Coinmetrics

2018-03-20 | Full Review

๐Ÿ’ฉ

Maker and Dai. Dai users return capital to MKR owners through the burn mechanism. At this point, the value of MKR (the derivative) is about 18x the value of Dai (the underlying). Channelling my best Matt Levine here: "This seems... wrong."

Nic Carter, Partner at Castle Island Ventures and Co-creator of Coinmetrics

2018-05-11 | Full Review

See all Nic Carter reviewsโ€”>

More Augur reviews

Compare Nic Carter's Augur reviews with other expert reviews of Augur.

๐Ÿ”‘

We believe decentralized prediction markets will reshape global finance markets and democratize finance in many respects. Augur presents the most compelling opportunity in the prediction market space.

2017-08-24 | Full Review

๐Ÿ”‘

I love Augur & prediction markets broadly (theyโ€™re one of a few use cases that make sense IMO) but if the Augur team quit a year ago, would anyone be interested? The ICO years before launch? etc.

2018-06-14 | Full Review

๐Ÿ’ฉ

If we assume an exponential growth in user base, our model shows an aggressive growth which is not unreasonable for a successful product and a much improved monthly expenditure. Still, the required turnover is measured in billions, which implies that in some sense Augur itself would have to grow larger than the current size of its parent platform, Ethereum.
Based on these findings, we lean toward the conclusion that Augur REP is probably overvalued at the moment.

2016-03-13 | Full Review

See all Augur reviewsโ€”>