Tuur Demeester on Bitcoin

a photo of crypto expert reviewer Tuur Demeester

Tuur Demeester is an investor and economist, mostly in Bitcoin. He launched the investment newsletter MacroTrends in 2008. He founded Adamant Capital in 2017.

expert reviewed cryptocurrency Bitcoin logo

Created by the pseudonymous Satoshi Nakamoto in 2009, Bitcoin is a peer-to-peer electronic cash system.

Finance and payments

Bitcoin reviews by Tuur Demeester

πŸ”‘ 3 positive | πŸ’© 0 negative

2019

  • πŸ”‘

    BTC/LN [analogy to] TCP/IP

    Bitcoin is becoming a platformβ€”a protocol stack with many features:
    - store of value
    - low trust wealth transfer
    - confidential transactions
    - tokenized securities
    - high volume payment network
    - microtransactions
    - smart contracts / programmable money

    2019-01-21 | Full Review

2018

  • πŸ”‘

    Why I think Bitcoin is evolving towards Reserve Asset status:
    πŸ“ˆ 10yr track record
    πŸ“ˆ Highest security
    πŸ“ˆ Stable & growing protocol stack
    πŸ“ˆ Institutional adoption
    πŸ“ˆ High & improving privacy
    πŸ“ˆ Politically neutral
    πŸ“ˆ User sovereignty
    πŸ“ˆ Virtuous liquidity cycle

    2018-11-30 | Full Review

2017

  • πŸ”‘

    The question whether Bitcoin ought to be digital cash or digital gold represents a false dichotomy: it can be both a secure and accessible form of money. By embracing modularity, the main Bitcoin blockchain can act as a maximally secure settlement layer, while second layer payment channels serve as pipelines for fast, high liquidity transactions.

    2017-01-15 | Full Review

More Tuur Demeester reviews

Compare Tuur Demeester's Bitcoin reviews with other coins.

πŸ’©

I originally saw [Litecoin] as a hedge against a particular Bitcoin panic; now it's just an altcoin with a reasonable amount of liquidity.

2016-11-27 | Full Review

πŸ’©

IOTA is a bad joke but still has a $4B market cap, 5x that of last summer. ICO market seems frothy still.

2018-05-28 | Full Review

πŸ’©

I'm afraid Tether is an accident waiting to happen. I won't be surprised if bank accounts freeze on accusation of abetting with money laundering.

2017-09-30 | Full Review

See all Tuur Demeester reviewsβ€”>

More Bitcoin reviews

Compare Tuur Demeester's Bitcoin reviews with other expert reviews of Bitcoin.

πŸ”‘

I don't have a view on what the ultimate value of a Bitcoin will be nor do I care. I am interested in Bitcoin plain and simply because I believe it can be and possibly will be the financial and transactional protocol for the global Internet.

2013-11-24 | Full Review

πŸ”‘

If something is to displace Bitcoin now, it will have to have sizable improvements and it will have to happen quickly. Otherwise, this network effect will carry Bitcoin to dominance.

2014-01-21 | Full Review

πŸ”‘

Bitcoin takes powers from the central actors and returns it to merchants and consumers, savers and borrowers. Bitcoin brings back some pseudonymity in the transactions, and can be irrevocably traded like cash. And finally, it points a way towards a single currency – it is a bug, not a feature, that we have multiple global currencies with exchangers and transaction fees in between.

2013-11-07 | Full Review

See all Bitcoin reviewsβ€”>