Arjun Balaji on Augur

a photo of crypto expert reviewer Arjun Balaji

Arjun Balaji is the founder of Shomei Capital, an investment fund focused on cryptoassets. He was formerly a software engineer at HubSpot and Flip.

expert reviewed cryptocurrency Augur logo

Augur is a decentralized oracle and prediction market. Augur's REP token is used for reporting and disputing the outcome of events. Reporters are rewarded for reporting correctly.

Augur reviews by Arjun Balaji

🔑 2 positive | 💩 0 negative

2019

  • 🔑

    My bullishness [in Augur] is due to (1) a full year elapsing with a working product (2) improved UX/choice of clients (3) increased brand awareness (4) demand in the market for a non-custodial prediction market (5) stablecoin integration and (6) better market-making and liquidity provisioning.

    2019-01-01 | Full Review

2018

  • 🔑

    I love Augur & prediction markets broadly (they’re one of a few use cases that make sense IMO) but if the Augur team quit a year ago, would anyone be interested? The ICO years before launch? etc.

    2018-06-14 | Full Review

More Arjun Balaji reviews

Compare Arjun Balaji's Augur reviews with other coins.

Binance Coin (BNB) is the best example of a pure tokenized security: $15M ICO -> partial claim on cash flows, future fund returns, etc.

2018-06-04 | Full Review

💩

Most “utility” tokens have little to no real utility. They’re MoE tokens that’ll see their value collapse, hence the use of various velocity sinks (e.g. a governance or MN/staking rn).....
Not all staking is a velocity sink. Augur and Numeraire are both tokens that I actually think makes sense. W.r.t. governance sinks, 0x is a project that comes to mind.

2018-06-12 | Full Review

🔑

The path that Zcash and other next-generation blockchains (Tezos, DFINITY, etc.) have taken is to set up incentives and off-chain governance processes to align early contributors and help guide the project from infancy to adulthood. While this trades off early on with decentralization, it allows for independence, time, and resources to be committed to more intensive research questions.

2018-06-28 | Full Review

See all Arjun Balaji reviews—>

More Augur reviews

Compare Arjun Balaji's Augur reviews with other expert reviews of Augur.

🔑

We believe decentralized prediction markets will reshape global finance markets and democratize finance in many respects. Augur presents the most compelling opportunity in the prediction market space.

2017-08-24 | Full Review

💩

If we assume an exponential growth in user base, our model shows an aggressive growth which is not unreasonable for a successful product and a much improved monthly expenditure. Still, the required turnover is measured in billions, which implies that in some sense Augur itself would have to grow larger than the current size of its parent platform, Ethereum.
Based on these findings, we lean toward the conclusion that Augur REP is probably overvalued at the moment.

2016-03-13 | Full Review

🔑

Augur is still easily the most exciting decentralized application that I know of.

2018-02-06 | Full Review

See all Augur reviews—>