Chris Dixon on Bitcoin

a photo of crypto expert reviewer Chris Dixon

Chris Dixon is a General Partner at Andreessen Horowitz, where he leads the firms dedicated crypto fund. Dixon's investments in cryptocurrency include Ripple, 21.co, and OpenBazzar.

Andreessen Horowitz

expert reviewed cryptocurrency Bitcoin logo

Created by the pseudonymous Satoshi Nakamoto in 2009, Bitcoin is a peer-to-peer electronic cash system.

Finance and payments

Bitcoin reviews by Chris Dixon

🔑 3 positive | 💩 0 negative

2015

  • 🔑

    Adam Smith called capital "stored labor". Bitcoin is literally stored computational labor (stored Hashcash).

    2015-07-02 | Full Review

2014

  • 🔑

    The first phase of Bitcoin was about laying the foundational infrastructure – gateways, consumer wallets, developer platforms, merchant services etc. The next phase will be about native Bitcoin apps – building new things that could never have been built before. These will likely be the applications that drive Bitcoin adoption into the mainstream.

    2014-10-04 | Full Review

2013

  • 🔑

    Like a lot of people I initially dismissed Bitcoin as a speculative bubble (“Internet tulip bulbs”) or a place to stash money for people worried about inflation (“Internet gold”). At some point, I had an “aha!” moment and realized that Bitcoin was best understood as a new software protocol through which you could rebuild the payments industry in ways that are better and cheaper.

    2013-12-31 | Full Review

More Chris Dixon reviews

Compare Chris Dixon's Bitcoin reviews with other coins.

🔑

Every 10-15 years, there’s a major new transition. . . . To me, Ethereum is the most important technology of the decade, for sure. I don’t even think it’s going to be questionable.

2018-04-19 | Full Review

🔑

We do think [a stablecoin like Dai] is a really important idea, to have a coin pegged to something like the U.S. dollar in order to make the experience more mainstream and accessible, [versus a world rife with] these volatile coins. We think it’s such an important piece of infrastructure that there could be multiple winners.

2018-06-25 | Full Review

🔑

Three years ago, Ethereum was a just a white paper. Today, Ethereum market cap is $1.6B, with a >$200M crowd-controlled fund to sponsor Ethereum projects and lots of interesting projects in development.

2016-06-17 | Full Review

See all Chris Dixon reviews—>

More Bitcoin reviews

Compare Chris Dixon's Bitcoin reviews with other expert reviews of Bitcoin.

🔑

I don't have a view on what the ultimate value of a Bitcoin will be nor do I care. I am interested in Bitcoin plain and simply because I believe it can be and possibly will be the financial and transactional protocol for the global Internet.

2013-11-24 | Full Review

🔑

If something is to displace Bitcoin now, it will have to have sizable improvements and it will have to happen quickly. Otherwise, this network effect will carry Bitcoin to dominance.

2014-01-21 | Full Review

🔑

Bitcoin takes powers from the central actors and returns it to merchants and consumers, savers and borrowers. Bitcoin brings back some pseudonymity in the transactions, and can be irrevocably traded like cash. And finally, it points a way towards a single currency – it is a bug, not a feature, that we have multiple global currencies with exchangers and transaction fees in between.

2013-11-07 | Full Review

See all Bitcoin reviews—>